Recommended Websites

Religion
Archdiocese of Washington http://www.adw.org
Little Flower Parish http://www.lfparish.org
Vatican http://www.vatican.va/
A ministry for traveling Catholics http://www.masstimes.org
Daily prayer on-line http://www.sacredspace.ie/
Government
National Geographic for Kids http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
Smithsonian http://www.si.edu/Science_and_Technology/
The History Channel http://www.historychannel.com/
Maryland Kid's Page http://www.mdkidspage.org/
Chesapeake Bay http://www.dnr.state.md.us/baygame/
bayfacts_howold.asp
The White House http://www.whitehouse.gov
Learn about the President, the history of the Presidency http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/
presidents/index.html
The White House for Kids http://www.whitehouse.gov/kids
Congress for Kids http://www.clerk.house.gov/
Ben’s Guide to US Government http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
The official kids' portal for the U.S. government http://www.kids.gov/
Arts & Recreation
Art in the White House http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/art/index.html
Smithsonian National Zoo http://nationalzoo.si.edu/
National Gallery of Art http://www.nga.gov/kids/
Science
The NOAA Home Page
Takes you on a science journey from the bottom of the sea to the sun. Learn about this important U.S agency - home of the Weather Service and much more.
http://www.noaa.gov/
The NOAA Photo Library
Over 20,000 public domain images of satellites, marine mammals, weather phenomena, Antarctic and more!
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/
Astronomy Picture of the Day (APOD)
Run by NASA, this site has a new picture every day.
http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/
apod/astropix.html
NASA for middle-school students http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forstudents/5-8/index.html
Search Engines
Ask Jeeves for Kids http://www.askkids.com/
Kids.Net.Au - searchable database of over 30,000 sites designed specifically for kids - contains English dictionary and thesaurus http://www.kids.net.au/
KidsClick Web Search - Web Search for Kids by Librarians - Includes Games http://www.kidsclick.org/
ThinkQuest Library of Sites http://www.thinkquest.org/en/
Yahooligans Web Guide http://kids.yahoo.com/
Reference
Awesome Library K-12 Education Directory http://www.awesomelibrary.org/
Everyday Mysteries: Fun Science Facts from the Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/mysteries/
Fact Monster Online Encyclopedia, Atlas, Almanac & Dictionary http://www.factmonster.com/
Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus http://www.merriam-webster.com/
Rainforest Facts http://www.rain-tree.com/facts.htm
Language Arts - Reading
Carol Hurst reviews Literature For Children and provides fun learning and teaching ideas http://www.carolhurst.com/
Hans Christian Anderson Fairy Tales http://www.andersenfairytales.com/en/main
Scholastic Authors and Books http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp
Free Rice Help others while learning vocabulary! http://www.freerice.com/
Math
A+ Math http://www.aplusmath.com/
AAA Math for Kids http://www.aaamath.com/
Create a Graph Classic http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/Graphing/Classic/
Math Playground http://www.mathplayground.com/
MathSite: Polygon Dissection Gallery http://mathsite.math.berkeley.edu/
polygon/EntranceOverture.html
Roman Numberal Facts and Converter http://www.crowes-nest.com/CrowesNest/
Library/RomanConv/roman.html
Spanish
Learn Spanish http://www.learn-spanish.co.il/
Language Guide Spanish http://www.languageguide.org/espanol/
Language Guide French http://www.languageguide.org/im/num/fr/
Spanish-Vocabulary/Animals http://www.spanicity.com/Spanish-
Vocabulary/Animals/Animals.htm
Spanish-Vocabulary/Body http://www.spanicity.com/Spanish-
Vocabulary/Body/Body.htm
Spanish-Vocabulary/Adjectives http://www.spanicity.com/Spanish-
Vocabulary/Adjectives/Adjectives.htm
Spanish-Vocabulary/Clothing http://www.spanicity.com/Spanish-
Vocabulary/Clothing/Clothing.htm